Home Sports Boys Basketball 1st Annual Striv All-Star Basketball Classic on Saturday

1st Annual Striv All-Star Basketball Classic on Saturday


Originally posted on StrivSports.com

Striv founder and CEO Taylor Siebert is excited to announce that York High School will be the host for the inaugural Striv All-Star Basketball Classic presented by Cornerstone Bank on June 6. The girls game will begin at 5:30 with boys to follow at 8:00 and there will be a 3-point shooting contest between games sponsored by John Kohl Auto Center. General admission is $3/adults, $2/students and kids 10 & under are free.

“With the growing number of schools using our live streaming platform, we wanted to figure out a unique way to showcase our student athletes,” Siebert said. “At 47 schools this year and over 50 committed for the 2015-16 school year, we have plenty of great athletes to choose from and we hope to put on a fun, family-friendly event with high quality basketball being played.”

While the event is new, the coaches need little introduction having all led their high school teams to the 2015 state tournament.

The boys teams will be coached by High Plains’ coach Cameron Hudson and Riverside coach Joe Imus. Hudson’s Storm won the Class D1 state title in March over Humphery St. Francis, while Imus led Riverside (Spalding/Cedar Rapids) to a third place finish in D2 as a first year school.

The girls teams will be coached by York’s Matt Kern and Sutton’s Monica Smith. Both led their teams to semifinals appearances in the girls state tournament in March.

“We are excited to get four great coaches and leaders to participate in our first game,” Siebert added.

Players were nominated by coaches and then selected via a draft creating a fun game format where three sets of high school teammates will be on opposite sides for the two games.

Boys Rosters
Orange: Kyle Gierhan (Centennial), Joey Hagerbaumer (Twin River), Cale Harless (High Plains), Jordan Heinrichs (Heartland), Hunter Kleinschmidt (Fillmore Central), Cole Klingsporn (High Plains), Andrew Lee (Central City), Derek Luzum (Exeter-Milligan), Matt McMullin (Clarkson/Leigh), Cole Nickels (Heartland), Jeremiah Ohlman (Central City), Andrew Pawlowski (Sutton). Coaches: Cameron Hudson (High Plains) and Dan Conway (Cross County).

Blue: Travis Eller (Cross County), Zach Glidden (Boone Central/Newman Grove), Marshall Glock (Shelby-Rising City), Travis Kennedy (Boone Central/Newman Grove), Jake Kittle (Aurora), Chris Konicek (Clarkson/Leigh), Dillon Koop (Wallace), Collin Martinsen (Riverside), Luke Siedhoff (Crete), Jacob Sykes (Wilber-Clatonia), Zach Wells (Madison), Luke Wilcynski (Twin River). Coaches: Joe Imus, Scott Schmieding (Riverside).

Girls Rosters
Orange: Audra Corbit (Laurel-Concord/Coleridge), Aubrey Fisher (Grand Island Northwest), Cortney Krauter (Wilber-Clatonia), Lindsay Lammers (Central Valley), Jenny Lawver (Friend), Delaney Lemkau (Sutton), Shelby Pollman (Fairbury), Sidney Pollman (Fairbury), Erin Schleicher (Grand Island Northwest), Savannah Shurman (Sutton), Christina Daniels (Wallace). Coaches: Monica Smith, Chad Wiseman (Sutton).

Blue: Kendra Alberts (Johnson-Brock), Ellie Arduser (Laurel-Concord/Coleridge), Katelyn Bartek (Madison), Jayden Erickson (Central Valley), Val Fousek (Central City), Abby Maresh (Central City), Kaitlin Paulsen (Crete), Kalie Uher (Crete), Jessie Valasek (Palmer), Sadie Wallin (Boone Central/Newman Grove), Jessica Wieck (Twin River). Coaches: Matt Kern, Jake Snodgrass (York).



Powered by Facebook Comments