Home News Heartland Community Schools Holds Annual Academic Letter of Intent Day

Heartland Community Schools Holds Annual Academic Letter of Intent Day

Left to Right: Peyton Ott, Benjamin Mestl, Audric Bulin, Collin Rowe, Colton Monnier, Kate Bergen, Katrina Hiebner, Emily Goertzen, Jade Hiebner, Arianna Gage, and Reid Huebert

Most of us are familiar with the athletic National Letter of Intent ceremonies held in the spring in high schools across the country. Heartland Community Schools has now added an Academic Letter of Intent ceremony for those students that also excel in the classroom. The only criteria for recognition is for the student to accept a scholarship from the college they will attend that is specifically awarded for academic achievement.

“We are excited every year to celebrate signing day for our student athletes that will continue to participate at the collegiate level,” said Superintendent Brad Best. “We are equally as excited for those students that exhibit academic excellence in the classroom. Today was a day in which we invited the students’ parents and college representatives to commemorate the hard work of these students in the classroom,” he continued. While not part of the criteria, all of those recognized participated in extra-curricular
activities and several will continue those experiences in college.

Language within the academic letter of intent signed by students speaks of their commitment to continued focus on excellence in the classroom and giving of their talents to the college they are attending. “They are making a public statement that they will work diligently to maintain their established pattern of academic excellence beyond high school,” Best said.

College representatives in attendance included: Heather Hulgrien of Southeast Community College, Morgan Parsley of Wayne State College, Angie Dickey of Hastings College, and Jaime Detour of the University of Nebraska – Lincoln.

Graduation for these seniors and others in their class will be held this Sunday, May 5th, at 2:30 PM.

Those students signing letters of intent, college they will attend, and planned program of study:

Collin Rowe, Southeast Community College Lincoln, Nebraska- Construction Management

Benjamin Mestl, Wayne State College Wayne, Nebraska- Pharmacy

Jade Hiebner, Wayne State College Wayne, Nebraska- Business Marketing

Kate Bergen, Hastings College Hastings, Nebraska- Exercise Science

Peyton Ott, Concordia University, Seward, Nebraska- Criminal Justice

Reid Huebert, University of Nebraska Lincoln, Nebraska- Physical Therapy

Emily Goertzen, University of Wyoming Laramie, Wyoming- Animal Science/Equine Science

Katrina Hiebner, Colorado Christian University Lakewood, Colorado- Worship Arts

Colton Monnier, South Dakota School of Mines Rapid City, S.D.- Engineering

Arianna Gage, Peru State College Peru, NE- Music Education

Audric Bulin, Union College Lincoln, NE- Medicine

Heartland officials participating included: Brad Best – Superintendent of Schools, Tim Carr – Secondary Principal, and Linda Koehler – Guidance Counselor.