Home Living Extension Update from Megan Burda: York County Families Celebrate 4-H

Extension Update from Megan Burda: York County Families Celebrate 4-H


The second annual York County 4-H Banquet ceremoniously wrapped up another great 4-H year. On Sunday, October 22, 4-H families were invited to a banquet celebration at the Cornerstone Building on the fairgrounds. 4-H members were honored and volunteers were recognized.   

A short program was given by Mattie Pohl one of the lesser known 4-H project areas: Entrepreneurship. Mattie shared her experiences with the York ESI Camp and the process of starting her own business using skills she learned in 4-H. She was recently featured at the National NAEFCS Conference in Omaha selling out of her table runners and talking about the 4-H ESI Program.

Nineteen 4-H members were recognized for completing their 4-H Career Portfolios. Medals were awarded to Career Portfolios showing outstanding achievement in a particular curriculum area.  For completing a Career Portfolio, 4-H’ers were given a $20 scholarship to be used toward any 4-H event in 2017, sponsored by the York County 4-H Council. Earning medals in curriculum areas were:

Clover Kids: Emma Hall, Mason Epp, and Kate Otte

Goat & Swine: Hailee Pohl

Sheep: Bailey Hall

Beginning Foods: Mattie Pohl, Tucker Robinson, Bailey Hall, Ava Epp

Clothing & Textiles: Tucker Robinson and Olivia Linhart

Public Speaking: Grace Regier

Forestry: Garett Regier

Entomology: Wyatt Regier

Leadership: William Wilton

Home Environment: Sydney Woodruff

Crop Science: Luke Otte

Entrepreneurship: Mattie Pohl

Woodworking: Luke Otte

Wildlife Conservation: Garett Regier and Wyatt Regier

Completed Career Portfolio: Kale Jones and Dakota Wollenburg

Two of these Career Portfolios will be moving on to state level judging for a chance to be selected for National 4-H Congress. Those individuals are William Wilton and Sydney Woodruff.

The Outstanding First Year 4-H’er award is given to a 4-H members in their first year of 4-H who demonstrates outstanding involvement and has completed their Career Portfolio.  The 2017 Outstanding First Year 4-H’er was Pieper Epp.

The Outstanding Senior 4-H’er award is given to two 4-H members who have been leaders in the program and completed their Career Portfolio. The winners each receive a $500 college scholarship sponsored by the York County 4-H Council. This year’s recipients of this award were Nicole Mittman and Sydney Woodruff.

The Nebraska Diamond Clover Awards are part of a noncompetitive program that recognizes the accomplishments of 4-H members across the state. The Diamond Clover consists of six levels that require a 4-H member to plan and report chosen accomplishments.  Examples of accomplishments are learning the 4-H Pledge, completing the Career Portfolio, and recruiting a new 4-H member.  As members progress through each level, the accomplishments become more involved.  The ultimate goal is to receive the Diamond level Pin.

Receiving the Amethyst Pin and completing 3 accomplishments are Pieper Epp and Ava Epp. Receiving the Aquamarine Pin and completing 4 accomplishments are Bailey Hall and Dakota Wollenburg. Completing 5 accomplishments and receiving the Ruby pin are Tucker Robinson and Mattie Pohl.

York County has a strong, traditional 4-H club program with many long-standing clubs in the area. This year, we were excited to recognize greatness in club programs through the Club of Excellence Award. To receive the designation as a Nebraska 4-H Club of Excellence, clubs must meet a certain set of criteria and document how this criteria was met. This criteria includes having a minimum number of meetings each year and planning an annual service project. Clubs are encouraged to apply annually to receive this recognition. Receiving this designation for the second year in a row, is the Lively Livestock Club.

4-H leaders were also recognized for reaching milestones in their years of volunteer service. Receiving 1 year awards were Lori Heiden, Max Hoover and Jared Reorda. Receiving 2 year awards were Carrie Epp, Stacie Turnbull, Jason Hall, Marcia Hoover, Ray Boston and Jackie Meier.

Special Recognition was also given to Karol Swan, Megan Outhet, Kristen Wilton, Pam Friesen, Lexa Rauert, Sydney Woodruff, Nicole Mittman, Grant Case as a thank you for their service to York County 4-H as a council members for many years.

This year was particularly special as a new award category was introduced, the Heart of 4-H Award. This award will be given annually to a York County 4-H volunteer who has gone above and beyond in supporting the local program. The inaugural recipient of this award was Eileen Krumbach in recognition of all her work with the Quilts of Valor Program in York County.

The 4-H Banquet was sponsored by Central Valley Ag, Aurora Co-op, Henderson Co-op, Farmers Co-op of Dorchester and McCool Junction, Constellation Energy and the York County 4-H Council. Eighty-five youth and adults were in attendance. Pictures of the banquet and award winners can be found on the York County Extension Facebook Page.



Powered by Facebook Comments